Angela Maynard Sewall

Angela Maynard Sewall

Angela Maynard Sewall, Ed.D.

Angela Sewall is Emeritus Dean and Emeritus Professor of the College of Education, University of Arkansas at Little Rock (UALR).

Sewall received her bachelor of arts degree from St. Mary’s College, Notre Dame, IN, in political science and philosophy. Her master of arts was awarded in international law and political theory by St. Louis University, where she also attended law school. Sewall also earned a doctorate in educational administration and supervision from the University of Arkansas at Fayetteville. She has attended the Principal's Center program and the Institution for Educational Management at Harvard University as well as completing postgraduate work in history at Stanford University, where she was a COE fellow. Sewall completed the AASCU Millennium Leadership Institute during the summer of 2003.

Prior to her 16-year tenure as dean at UALR, Sewall held a variety of positions in public education as a teacher, director of student services and assistant principal, principal, and associate superintendent for school operations. She was responsible for the daily operations of 50 schools as well as district grievances, mediation procedures, and student hearings and worked on issues of desegregation in the district. Sewall served as special assistant for accountability and alternative learning programs prior to moving to UALR as an associate professor in 1992.

In 1997, Sewall was promoted to professor and began serving as dean of the College of Education. She was a teaching dean who taught doctoral courses, chaired dissertations, and served on thesis committees. (The College is home to three doctoral degrees, more than 20 masters’ degrees, and four undergraduate degrees. In addition to providing licensure for teachers, counselors, and school and district leaders, the college offers degrees for the preparation of adult educators, leaders in higher education, persons who work with rehabilitation of the blind, Interpreters, agency and school counselors, and literacy specialists.)

Sewall is engaged in service to the profession including the former National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education (NCATE) and its successor organization, the Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation (CAEP). She has been a member of the NCATE Board of Examiners, chair of its Unit Accreditation Board, and a member of the NCATE Executive Committee, as well as a member of ARPA, the Continuous Improvement Council, and the Accreditation Council. She also has been a board member of the Reading Recovery Council of North America (RRCNA) and a member and past president of the Teacher Education Council of State Colleges and Universities. She served as dean’s representative on the RRCNA Board for 6 years and received the National Teacher Leader Award in 2004 for her support of improved literacy. Internationally, Sewall served on a team of presidents and provosts from selected higher education institutions, in conjunction with the Christian A. Johnson Foundation and Artes Liberales, working in Central and Eastern Europe to help revive the liberal arts in higher education institutions in countries emerging from communism. In Arkansas, she has been active in the state association of colleges for teacher education, serving on the board for approximately 12 years. She also chaired the State Professional Licensure and Assessment Board for 6 years, working closely with administrators, teachers, and the Arkansas Department of Education.

Sewall led a research effort by the Arkansas Deans in concert with the Arkansas Education Association and facilitated by a grant from AACTE and the National Education Association that culminated in an important report, “Arkansas' Partnership for Teacher Quality: An Exploratory Analysis Using Arkansas Databases and Teacher Survey.” The Arkansas departments of education and higher education also collaborated in this effort.

She is also active in the AACTE “dean-alike” meetings and has worked with AACTE’s government relations staff on issues related to higher education and PK-12 accountability, leading the efforts in a national Teacher Quality Partnership grant. At the request of the state education deans, Sewall continues to work with them and to serve as a liaison with the departments of education and higher education in Arkansas. She has been a member of the AACTE Board for two terms and served a term on the Executive Committee as an At-Large member. She has also volunteered with the AACTE Committee on Meetings and Professional Development and the Committee on Research and Dissemination and has presented on leadership at multiple Association meetings and national forums. She has been a member of the Arkansas Leadership Academy Partners Board and served as chair of the Executive Committee for more than a decade working with leadership development, teacher development, and the Master Principal program.

Under her leadership, UALR was one of only a few universities to receive the I3 grant to improve early literacy. The College of Education also partnered with the Promise Neighborhood planning committee on a Harlem Promise Zone planning grant during her tenure and received numerous Javits grants in gifted education, a National Science Foundation AIMS grant regarding STEM and AP, and a UTeach grant in the STEM areas.

Sewall continues to work with the Arkansas Education Deans Council as well as the Arkansas Public Policy Panel. She has authored numerous nationally and internationally published journal articles, book chapters, a monograph, and one book. Sewall is also a frequent presenter at state, regional, and national meetings. Her particular research interests are in the areas of school policy, law and leadership, and assessment.

Upon her retirement June 30, 2013, Sewall was awarded emeritus status by the University of Arkansas system board of Trustees. She continues to write, publish, and work with colleagues in the state as an AAIMS mentor and a TES trainer and with other projects as requested by educational colleagues in the state and around the country.